About Salamanca Square
Salamanca Square began its life as a quarry that dates back to the earliest days of the Sullivan's Cove settlement in the early 19th Century.
The quarry is still visible behind the modern apartments and shops that line the Square and stands as a significant symbol of Hobart's history and the sweat and toil of our convicts and early settlers.
Hundreds of convicts were used to quarry out the cliffs, cut the stone and build the row of beautiful Georgian sandstone warehouses that were built in the 1830 that front the Square.
In 1995, after considerable opposition from the Battery Point Progress Association and the Salamanca Traders Association, the Hobart City Council approved a development application for the Salamanca Quarry, which resulted in the creation of Salamanca Square.
Comprising apartments, shops, restaurants, offices and a public space, the Square was completed in 1997.
Today Salamanca Square offers a piazza space for relaxing and entertainment, It’s a safe environment with no cars and it's great in winter as it’s a sun trap. Businesses are open 7 days a week until late.
To read more about the Square's history, we highly recommend "A Quarry Speaks - A History of Salamanca's Quarry" by Anthony R Hope.